Spring flowers at Christmass time

It´s always nice to see the spring coming to your home. But if the spring is too far away it´s better to bring it home yourself.

In Czech Republic we do it simply – we buy plants that have bulbs and therefore can be prepared to bloom earlier. And so we have spring at our houses and homes since early February.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I bought Narcissus, Primula and Muscari (in picture) this year.

At first I thought this is a new fashion to buy plants from Holland and keep them behind your window or on your table. But my grandma told me this was an old tradition as she remembered from her childhood my great-great-aunt  having plants at home during the Second World War and they being in bloom even during all the Christmas.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
These are my blue colored striped Primulas.

I wonder in how many other countries it is usual to bring spring plants home earlier to have nice days full of blooms.

Let me know if you do this too, or if you have some other spring traditions.

Leave a Reply

